Questioning Curiosity

Questioning Curiosity

“The important thing is to not stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existence. One cannot help but be in awe when he contemplates the mysteries of eternity, of life, of the marvellous structure of reality. It is enough if one tries merely to comprehend a little of this mystery each day.” – Albert Einstein

Curiosity is the desire to know more. It is the increased level of interest to understand a particular object or fact. Curiosity may stem from a passing comment in a conversation, or may just be an urge to know more. It empowers and motivates us to expand on our knowledge and gives us the incentive to explore the unknown. Being a rather curious character is a significant reason as to why I furthered my studies at University. I am eager to understand the reason behind why the world is the way it is.

…Why do we blame the media for the problems in society? Is it the media’s fault for eating disorders and suicide, or is it the individuals as a whole that create the social impact? Why are whales still becoming extinct if there are laws in place to stop it? How did the world begin and transform to what it is today? How is global warming still an issue we are facing when we know it is happening? Why is there no parking at the university when it is clearly an issue? Why is the English language so different and complicated in comparison to others?

It is my curiosity, which drives me to understand all these questions. If I did not care to know the reason behind a myriad of questions I ask myself, I would not bother to find out. I would not study a double degree in Linguistics and Media, if I had no curiosity. It would not be of interest to me to read pages and pages and pages of readings each week if I was not curious to find the answer. I would not battle the UOW parking if I didn’t care for what I was studying. Without curiosity it would be easy to give up and spend time watching T.V.

Having to do a blog post about curiosity has made me question curiosity itself. Researching it has made me analyse the way I study. Being curious about curiosity makes me question why I study. Now, I thank curiosity for opening up new worlds. It is through curiosity that I understand the reason behind the world. Instead of facing projects with a closed mindset, or set Ideologies, curiosity enables me to understand the reason behind the different beliefs each human has.

Leave a Reply

